Not Prepared for the Real World

I was reading in my college newspaper an article about how college does not teach students life skills outside of college. I have come to the conclusion, that it is true, many students get out of college puzzled about many things. For one thing, credit cards, let me tell you, companies sucker students all of the time because many do not know what an APR rate is, they do not they should have credit cards that have high ass apr rates because they will end up paying so much interest. I am in debt now with credit cards, but I knew what an apr rate was before I got them. The article also discusses how students do not know how much to tip when they go to restaurants. I am not ashamed to say, that I do not know either. I do not eat out often, and if I ever go to a fancy place, I would love to know how much to tip the waiter. I am really scared to death when I am done with school because what if I am not prepared to face the outside world. I mean, I have been living on my own for the past four years, but I will no longer be recieving those hefty refund checks from school, so I will no longer have that cushion. I just am scared that I will be really struggling when I am done, but hey many college students struggle. I just wish that colleges offered courses on like managing budgets, how to save money, stuff like that. Wee are forced to take all of these academic classes, but when we get the degree, we will not know how to utilize it. I hear so often about people who have four year degrees, but end up working dead end jobs and such. I am scared that it is going to happen to me. I do not know where all of these jitters are coming from. Probably because since I have only one more quarter after this quarter left of school, then I will be officially done. But it will all work out for the best right?

said Michelle on 2006-02-11 @ 2:34 p.m.

last ++ next

Miss these?
-----
4 months later - 2007-03-11
Being a Social Worker - 2006-11-07
Need a new Job!! - 2006-10-11
Two Months into my New Life - 2006-08-30
Loving the Job - 2006-08-17
The Diary
The xtras
Stalk Me
Currently I'm
Thank you