"Stolen Eyes"

Whew, finally done with classes for today. I don't know why I'm so happy because I did not go to one of my classes today, and I only had two. But I have an excuse though, it was at 8 in the morning, and I Had not gotten much sleep the night before. I don't know why, I felt so restless, and I kept waking up.

So my ethnic studies class was cool today. We watched a movie titled "Stolen Eyes," and it was an experiment this lady was doing. She would seperate a group of people by the color of their eyes. They were in the category of Blue Eyes and Brown Eyes. The people with brown eyes got to control the people with the blue eyes. The whole idea was to show the people with the blue eyes (white people) how it feels to be degraded and humiliated by the brown eyed people. (colored skin people)

It was interesting to see how the blue eyed people would react to the treatment that they got. Some of them were crying, and even some of the left and walked out of the experiment. Mind you, all of these people volunteered to do the project, and that they were not forced to do it. One lady who was one of the people who was part of being degraded said that while the others were picking on her, she was thinking happy thoughts so she would not have to think about what was going on around her.

This got the most reaction from me because me, being a person of color can not ignore the way certain people treat me, or just ignore it and think that what is happening will go away, but it won't. I have to be aware of it because it is happening.

That is the problem in our world today, that people do not want to see that racial discrimination is going on, or they do, but they claim that the problem can be easily fixed, when it is not that simple.

~Michelle~


said Michelle on 2003-01-09 @ 6:40 p.m.

last ++ next

Miss these?
-----
4 months later - 2007-03-11
Being a Social Worker - 2006-11-07
Need a new Job!! - 2006-10-11
Two Months into my New Life - 2006-08-30
Loving the Job - 2006-08-17
The Diary
The xtras
Stalk Me
Currently I'm
Thank you