Strange Fruit

I Have been on this whole downloading of old jazz and blues songs. I have especially been downloading Billie Holiday and Dorothy Dandridge songs. I blame my roomate Brianna. It is all her fault! The song that I have been listening by billie is a song called "Strange Fruit" It was actually wrote by a jewish man. I don't remember his real name, but he wrote under an alias named Allan Lewis. It became really popular in the 1940's during civil rights and other major events. I just wanted to put the lyrics up, and I wanted everyone to tell me what they think the song is about.

Strange Fruit

Southern tress bear a strange fruit,

Blood on the leaves and blood at the root,

Black bodies swinging in the southern breeze.

Strange fruit hanging from the poplar trees.

Pastoral scene of the gallant south

The bulging eyes and the twisted mouth

Scent of magnolias, sweet and fresh

Then the sudden smell of burning flesh

Here is fruit for the crows to pluck

For the rain to gather, for the wind to suck,

For the sun to rot, for the trees to drop,

Here is a strange and bitter cry.


said Michelle on 2003-02-14 @ 3:29 p.m.

last ++ next

Miss these?
-----
4 months later - 2007-03-11
Being a Social Worker - 2006-11-07
Need a new Job!! - 2006-10-11
Two Months into my New Life - 2006-08-30
Loving the Job - 2006-08-17
The Diary
The xtras
Stalk Me
Currently I'm
Thank you