Pieces of You: Vanity

Vanity

It's on the tv, in movies, and in magazines.... Everywhere we turn society is telling us how we should look. What's attractive and what's not and so many of us, women and men fall victim to these unrealistic ideals. Do you?

How do the pressures of 'beautiful society' effect you?

In our society, we go by how other people look. Especially the skinny models that we see on tv. So we think that we have to look like these women. There are women who are big, and they want to lose massive amounts of weight because society deems them as not of the norm. Their bodies are not made to be like that.

But the pressures of "beautiful society" do not effect me bit. It is true,that Im thin and skinny, so people would say that I have no problems, but I do not care what people say about me. I love myself for who I am, and I'm happy with what the good Lord gave me. It really makes me upset that Society allows girls to hurt themselves trying top be like what they "deem" as being beautiful. I think most of the models are very skinny and boney, and that is just not cute to me at all. I would rather be myself than them. You know that most of the models are probably belimic or anorexic, and that is just not what I want to put my body through.

So, this is to all us women out there, do not let the media and the public influence you to be a certain way. All of us have different styles of clothing, and we all look different. Just be yourselves, and love yourselves, and you will be fine. Do not let the pressures of the "beautiful" society get you down.


said Michelle on 2003-09-13 @ 6:25 p.m.

last ++ next

Miss these?
-----
4 months later - 2007-03-11
Being a Social Worker - 2006-11-07
Need a new Job!! - 2006-10-11
Two Months into my New Life - 2006-08-30
Loving the Job - 2006-08-17
The Diary
The xtras
Stalk Me
Currently I'm
Thank you