Coach Carter

Let's have a cheer for three day weekends. I love when those happen to come around. But I am kind of bitter that I have to work on Martin Luther King's Day. The state acts like this is not a holiday or something. I hate that he does not get the recognition he deserves. We have the day off on President's Day, and we do not have to work on that day either. I think that is so wrong.

I am happy that my baby sister is here with me this weekend. Today is her birthday, and she is 19 years old. Man it is hard to believe that she is growing up. Man that means I am getting old also, because I will be 22 next month, which is crazy. These last few months have really went by.

She and I went and saw the movie Coach Carter starring Samuel L. Jackson, which is based on a real man named Ken Carter, who coached basketball at Richmond Highschool in Richmond California. His story took place like 5 years ago, so what he did is really recent. It was a great inspirational movie, and I really enjoyed it.

Right now, I am waiting on eggshells to see if I will get a call back from Cedar Point I really would like to work there this summmer. But I have not heard anything from them yet, but I looked at the progress of my application, and it has been reviewed by two people already, so I guess that is a good sign.

I have not gotten the chance to talk to Duaine in a very long time. I wish that I could talk to him for ten minutes, just to hear his voice, then I could really know that he is doing well. I wish that I knew when he would be released. He is slowly reaching his two year mark being behind bars, so maybe they are going to make him do half of his time, then release him, but only time will tell. In the mean time, he is keeping his self out of trouble, and doing positive things to keep his mind occupied.

Well, I am off to watch some television or something. You guys have a great weekend.


said Michelle on 2005-01-15 @ 7:08 p.m.

last ++ next

Miss these?
-----
4 months later - 2007-03-11
Being a Social Worker - 2006-11-07
Need a new Job!! - 2006-10-11
Two Months into my New Life - 2006-08-30
Loving the Job - 2006-08-17
The Diary
The xtras
Stalk Me
Currently I'm
Thank you