Black or Not

So me and a girl today talked about putting things in the perspective of being black or white. We both agree that we, as a society should not do that because some things that black people consider to be only black are not necessarily run or owned by black people.

For example, the BET network is not owned by a black person, but by a white male. I did not know this until this girl told me. The black culture always emphasizes that we have our own style, and that we start certain trends. For example, Run DMC started the whole trend of wearing Adidas and Jeans, but who actually make adida shoes, asian people.

I really do not get why everything has to be classified in the terms of black and white. For example, Damien, who lives on my hall, says that I'm white because I listen to white music. I also listen to rap and R&B, but he considers me to be white anyways. I guess for me to be black, I would have to talk in ghetto slang, and smoke weed and drink all of the time. I took an online quiz today on how black I was and I came out to be 20% black. I started laughing because I am african american. I guess if I would of tweeked my answers a little bit by responding to the answers that were all ghetto and everything, then I would have been black.

Sorry everyone about the off the wall subject, but that was on my mind today. Will catch up with everyone tommorow!

"I will search for my lost ones who strayed away, and I will bring them safely home again. I will bind up the injured and strengthen the weak." Ezekiel 34:16


said Michelle on 2002-11-12 @ 7:37 p.m.

last ++ next

Miss these?
-----
4 months later - 2007-03-11
Being a Social Worker - 2006-11-07
Need a new Job!! - 2006-10-11
Two Months into my New Life - 2006-08-30
Loving the Job - 2006-08-17
The Diary
The xtras
Stalk Me
Currently I'm
Thank you