Ignorance is not Bliss

Today was a tiring day. Work really wore me out. I was happy that I only had one class today because I got to sleep in today.

Well to put a long story short, my friend had a very bad experience today. He is the sweetest thing in the world, and some people said some racist comments to him. This made him not want to be his race.

I do not like ignorant people like that at all. To call other people racist names just because they do not like them because of what race they are.

Discrimination is the worst thing to go through. You feel degraded, humiliated, and do not feel like a human being at all.

It's hard to say what I'm feeling right now, because being a black person, I hear racist things directed towards me sometimes. I try not to let those sort of comment get me down, but it is hard. I then remember that they are just ignorant and do not know any better. If they feel that way about me, that is fine, just the fact that they are missing out on knowing a cool person.

To my friend, keep your chin up okay? Don't let what they say get you down. You have friends who love you, and care you!

~Michelle~


said Michelle on 2003-01-06 @ 11:32 p.m.

last ++ next

Miss these?
-----
4 months later - 2007-03-11
Being a Social Worker - 2006-11-07
Need a new Job!! - 2006-10-11
Two Months into my New Life - 2006-08-30
Loving the Job - 2006-08-17
The Diary
The xtras
Stalk Me
Currently I'm
Thank you