Trusting your Heart

Today was a good day. I got the studying done for my midterm that I have tommorow, and I think I will do okay, but will not get too cocky about it because I do not want to jinx myself. I will go over the timeline, maps, and the tersm for the Islamic section tonight and I should be good to go.

I got a letter from Duaine yesterday. I just happened to check my mailbox today, and I saw the letter in my box. This letter was totally unexpected. It was a reponse to my last letter that I sent him. I was lashing out at him, and was upset because I accused of him lying to me. I had talked to my father a couple of hours before I had wrote this letter, and my father basically told me that Duaine was lying to me and was using me. You see the situation is that I have a calling card that I put money on. I some times use it when my anytime minutes are low and need to make a call during the day. But anyway, I have let Duaine use this card, and I do not mind to put money on when it get's low because I use it sometimes too. But he cannot use it at the moment because he is jail, and they are not allowed to use outside calling cards where he is.

In my heart I believed that he was telling the truth, but then the minutes on my calling card were disappering, and I was not using them, and Duaine said that he could not use the calling card. I had not remembered whether or not I have given my Grandmother my callin card number, but the she confirmed that she did not have it. I was then convinced that he was lying to me. What made it worse that I thought he was calling other people with my calling card and not me.

I told my mother about it and she called my father behind my back and told him the situation, and he came to the conclusion that he was lying to me and was using me. My father basically wants me to stop talking to Duaine because he does not trust him. Duaine tells me that he will never lie to me, and I have believed him all this time. But what my father told me hit home, and that was when I wrote that letter angry and upset. I had believed that Duaine was telling the truth, but then I started do doubt my own judgement after I talked to my father.

This letter confirmed that Duaine was telling the truth. Inside the letter he sent me a calling card which can only be used at the facility that he is in. This thing cost 10 bucks for only for 20 minutes. On the card, they only have the option to either make a collect call, or punch in the calling card number. That amount of money for those minutes are ridiculous.

I know feel awful because I did not trust my heart that he was telling the truth. I did trust him until the after I talked to my father and he told me what his "kind" do. This made me upset and I lashed out at him in this letter and I called him a liar. Now that I know that he is not lying to me, I know that I hurt him because he told me so. I told him that I would never lose faith in him, and I did all because I let someone else's words and opinions alter my opinions and beliefs. He also told me that he was shocked by what I said. I now know that this was all a complete misunderstanding and I know that he has been completely honest with me.

What have I learned from this ladies and gentleman, that you should never let anyone alter your beliefs or opinions in anything. If you believe something to be true in your heart, then you stick with it because you are more likely to be right about that one thing.


said Michelle on 2003-05-18 @ 5:00 p.m.

last ++ next

Miss these?
-----
4 months later - 2007-03-11
Being a Social Worker - 2006-11-07
Need a new Job!! - 2006-10-11
Two Months into my New Life - 2006-08-30
Loving the Job - 2006-08-17
The Diary
The xtras
Stalk Me
Currently I'm
Thank you