A Good Friend

I'm really sad right now. Today we had to put my mother's dog to sleep. We just had no place to put him. He was staying with my Aunt, but he kept using the restroom in her house all of the time. She would let him out to go, but he never did, and he you would wake up the next morning and there would a be a little puddle on the floor. I was really sad to have put him to sleep. My mom made me go in the shelter and sign the papers because she could not do it. It was hard for me too. I was really sad when I had to put him in the cage. He just hates being closed in and he was crying, I felt so bad.

But though I am sad that we had to put him to sleep, I'm happy because he led a long life. This dog had been around since my sister was 2 and I was 5. We are now 17 and 20, which is a very long time. He outlived the amount of time he was supposed to live. He was a pikenese and poodle. There live spans are not that long, but he outlived it. I think the reason he lived so long was because he had family that loved him, and I think he knew that. Dogs I think live longer if they are in a loving family because they can sense the love, and they do not get depressed. I'm glad to have had him in my family for as long as he was, but it would not been good for him to suffer. He suffered from arthiritis sometimes, and he seemed in pain, so I think it was all for the best.

He was a really good dog, and a very good friend, and he will be really missed.


said Michelle on 2003-07-28 @ 4:08 p.m.

last ++ next

Miss these?
-----
4 months later - 2007-03-11
Being a Social Worker - 2006-11-07
Need a new Job!! - 2006-10-11
Two Months into my New Life - 2006-08-30
Loving the Job - 2006-08-17
The Diary
The xtras
Stalk Me
Currently I'm
Thank you