Transgender Awareness Week

At our school today was the beginning of Transgender Awareness Week, where in our Commons area, there was a whole row of people who were transgenders, and they were murdered. It gave a picture, the age, and how the person was killed, and a short bio of their life. Me and my friend were horror stricken when were reading some of these. I almost burst into tears, because they people were saviously murdered, some really inhumane ways. One of the people from the organization who put on this program, took pictures of us looking at the pictures of the people.

It just makes me sick, how evil our world is. How is someone allowed to murder someone just because they do not like them because they are different from them? This society is screwed, and there are some major changes that need to be had. These people's murderers did not even serve much time. What kind of sense does that make? They get away with murder. No one is allowed to judge another person at all, only God has that right.

I noticed that many of these murders took place back east, where they are still very close minded about gays and transgenders. In california, there are problems, but we are much more open than they are. It makes me scared for my friends who are gay, and my family members that are gay because I am afraid that they will be attacked by one of those people who are just retarded, and need to grow up.

People will argue that people who are gay are just asking to be presucuted. Why would someone choose to be gay just be persecuted? This will be a problem in our society for a very long time, and it makes me sad, that the people who are murdered everyday because of who they are, not getting the justice they deserve.

My heart goes out to the families of all of the people I read about today, and may God Bless you.


said Michelle on 2003-11-20 @ 10:31 p.m.

last ++ next

Miss these?
-----
4 months later - 2007-03-11
Being a Social Worker - 2006-11-07
Need a new Job!! - 2006-10-11
Two Months into my New Life - 2006-08-30
Loving the Job - 2006-08-17
The Diary
The xtras
Stalk Me
Currently I'm
Thank you