Determination

I must remember that I have to make my own choices, and that I cannot let what other people say, hinder my decisions.

I was talking to my Uncle last night, and I told him about me and Duaine. I told him about Duaine's past, what he has done, and where he comes from. He told me that he thinks I should leave him alone, that a person like him would only bring me down. He told me to be with a man with as much baggage as Duaine has, is really bad. I can get caught in his issues, and will screw what I have going for myself up.Duaine pushes me to do my best in school everyday. He is proud of the person that I am, the person, that I am becoming. He is happy to be with someone who has goals, is determined to be successful, and who wants to have a good life

I know that my uncle means well, but I am tired of people telling me that Duaine will not amount to anything, that he is a loser, and has nothing going for him. Duaine will amount to something dammit! He is tired of where he is going. He is working his ass off to get his life straight. Do you think he wants to end up like his friends, dead or in prison for the rest of his life? Hell No, I do not think so! He realizes that his life is worth much more than then all of the negativity that he has been through. Society better give him a chance to succeed. I know he will have a hard time going to school and finding a job but because of his record, but he will not let that stop him. He is determined to succeed, and to make something of his life. He has been down way too long, and he is tired of it. Yeah, I am standing up for him, because who else will? He is where he is now because he did not have any support. I push him everyday, I am the reason why he got his GED. He did not think that he could get it, but he did. Many people do not have support in their lives to get through day to day issues. They feel alone. Well he knows that he has me, and we will show everyone, that he is someone to heard and listened to, that he has a voice. With God's help and our faith, nothing is impossible.


said Michelle on 2003-12-09 @ 11:56 p.m.

last ++ next

Miss these?
-----
4 months later - 2007-03-11
Being a Social Worker - 2006-11-07
Need a new Job!! - 2006-10-11
Two Months into my New Life - 2006-08-30
Loving the Job - 2006-08-17
The Diary
The xtras
Stalk Me
Currently I'm
Thank you