Fagaala

I wanted to write about the dance program that I saw last night, but I was too tired to talk about.

The dance performance that I saw for my dance class was completely awesome last night!It was called Fagaala. It was my first time seeing a live dance performance, and it was great. It was really cool because this was a world premiere, and we were the first school to see it.

The dance company Compagnie Jant-Bi was from Africa, from Senegal actually. The dance team consisted of 7 Senegalese men, who were absolutely gorgeous. Yes, sexy black african men. *smile* The piece was based on a depiction a book written about the Genocide in Rwanda. The choreographer was a Japanese man.

The movements were really intense and enthusiastic. There were lot's of hard landings on the floor. They crawled a lot, and slid across the floor. There were also plenty of kicks and running around. They also moved ther lower toso in different rhythms, it kind of reminded me of the slithering of a snake. All of their positions included their knees being bent, so they have really strong knees. There were parts where it was really intense, and the movements showed the feeling of fear and sadness. They were also barefoot. It was cool to hear them chant and sing in their language. It was awesome to see two different cultures in the dance. I wish I was able to see it again.

Well, that was fun, now it is time for me to do my homework, I have been on here for far too long. *smile*


said Michelle on 2004-01-29 @ 9:35 p.m.

last ++ next

Miss these?
-----
4 months later - 2007-03-11
Being a Social Worker - 2006-11-07
Need a new Job!! - 2006-10-11
Two Months into my New Life - 2006-08-30
Loving the Job - 2006-08-17
The Diary
The xtras
Stalk Me
Currently I'm
Thank you