POY: Conformity vs. Individuality

This is for Pieces of You I have not written for them in awhile, but I found a topic that I really liked to write about.

Examine the pressures that exist in society to conform to popular culture and its effect on your own individuality.

This weeks topic ~ Conformity vs Individuality

Well this is seen in everyday society. People conform to what society deems as 'normal' because they are afraid of being themselves-individuals because they are afraid of being ridiculed.

I get teased for the type of music that I listen to because I am a black woman, and I guess blacks are "supposed" to listen to only rap and hip hop. But my taste in music extends further than that. I like a wide variety of music, and I think that this shows that I am a very open minded person.

You can also see how the media dictates how people are supposed to act like. Take for instance, all of the name brand clothes that the rappers wear in the videos. You have to wear that those type of clothes to be cool. If you do not wear them, then you are frowned upon. Some people do not have the money for those kind of clothes, I know I do not, so I do not wear those expensive name brand clothing. Also, you hear about people having to spend like a 100 bucks for name brand shoes, they just have to have them. Come on now, clothes, and the shoes you wear do not make a person, but you can't tell anyone that.

I wish that people could just be themselves, and not like everyone else, or set into a specific stereotype like me and my taste in music, but this is a problem in our society, that will never go away.


said Michelle on 2004-02-15 @ 10:54 p.m.

last ++ next

Miss these?
-----
4 months later - 2007-03-11
Being a Social Worker - 2006-11-07
Need a new Job!! - 2006-10-11
Two Months into my New Life - 2006-08-30
Loving the Job - 2006-08-17
The Diary
The xtras
Stalk Me
Currently I'm
Thank you