Duaine Update

Yeah I know I have been gone for awhile, but I am still here. Work is going pretty good. It has been hard to get pledges, but I am not giving up. I am kind of mad though because last night, there was this girl that was recieving mad pledges, she got over 300 bucks in pledges last night. I did however get 25 dollars tonight, and that made me happy. Me and another girl are the only people to get pledges tonight, we only got 50 bucks in pledges and our goal for the night was 1500, so we were sent home early. I was kind of glad though.

I saw the early showing of spider man 2 last night. I really loved it better than the first spiderman. The movie had a feel of a comic book the way it jumped from scene and to scene and I really liked that. Dr. Ock was cool also.

I have not mentioned Duaine in my diary lately. I recieved a letter from him the other day pertaining his jail release. A woman who visits people while they are in jail from the Court System visited him the other day for a good hour. She took notes on his good progress, and told him that the Judge and other people have met concerning Duaine three times before. He was told that the judge is definitely not going to make him do four years in jail. He originally wanted him to do half of his time, which is two years but since Duaine is doing so well, he may let him out earlier than that. She is going to visit him again in August and tell him what is going on. He was told that the judge reads all of the letters that Duane sends him, and she does she, so he could write as often as he liked. She wants him to take a victim's awareness class also. When gets out he is going to have to go to a half way house, which is where people who are released from jail early go. They are able to go to school, and work and everything, but they are still monitored, he would have to do that for six months, from there, he is going to be able to go to Columbus to stay with his Aunt where it is possible for him to get off of probabtion early, which will take about year or so. I would say he could be out in California in like a year and half or so. Yeah that is a long time, but I am willing to wait for him. I have been waiting for him for a very long time. He is doing so well. I have faith in him, that he will get his life straight. He has proven so much to me and to others. If he is unable to visit me first, I am going to visit him first. I am scared and excited at the same time. But in the meantime, pray for him okay, for him to keep on the right path, and for the court system to do what they say they are going to do for him, and not let him down.


said Michelle on 2004-06-30 @ 9:28 p.m.

last ++ next

Miss these?
-----
4 months later - 2007-03-11
Being a Social Worker - 2006-11-07
Need a new Job!! - 2006-10-11
Two Months into my New Life - 2006-08-30
Loving the Job - 2006-08-17
The Diary
The xtras
Stalk Me
Currently I'm
Thank you