Can't believe it

I am so happy because I bought myself a new 19 in tv. I really needed it since our roomate took her tv when she moved out. It kind of hurt my savings account a bit, but it was a good investment.

In other news, I found out that my cousin was raped the other night at her friend's house. She woke up to a guy on top of her, and her friend just so happened to walk in while he was raping her. I feel really bad for her. I am also angry, to know that this happened to someone in my family. But she is being strong right now, she pressed charges and everything. She is not letting this get her down, she is really courageous, and I commend her for what she is doing. Many girls would be too ashamed to take action, and would do nothing about it. She did feel ashamed at first, but she is fighting back. It turns out she knew who this boy was, he was friend of a friend. It is most often that people who are raped, are raped by people that they know. My mother was raped when she was a teenager, but she did nothing about it. She told noone except her best friend. I do not know what I would do if I was raped, would I be strong enough to press charges, or would I let the guy get away with it?

It makes me angry that men treat women in this way, taking their self control away from them, just to show that they are in control. I am not saying all men are dogs, but there are so many that out there who are assholes.


said Michelle on 2004-07-10 @ 11:11 p.m.

last ++ next

Miss these?
-----
4 months later - 2007-03-11
Being a Social Worker - 2006-11-07
Need a new Job!! - 2006-10-11
Two Months into my New Life - 2006-08-30
Loving the Job - 2006-08-17
The Diary
The xtras
Stalk Me
Currently I'm
Thank you