Touching Base

Man work was so dead last night, we even left early because we only had like 200 bucks on the board, but that was okay. Tonight was much better, I raised like 350, and another girl raised 600 or so, and other people got pledges also, so it was a good night. I am sad however because I will never see my supervisor again because she is not going to be working for the rest of the summer, but she is going home up north. I am not going to be workin there in the fall, but I have a friend who knows her, and I can get her sn from him. Oh yeah my first call tonight, the guy made it really hard for me to get a plege from him. He loved UCR, but he thought I was reading from a script. Which I don't do anymore, I memorized my script a long time ago. He had me on the verge of tears but I did not let him know that. He also thought I was doing this for volunteer work, and I was like no this is my job, so he felt like a prick after I said that because I could hear it in his voice. *smile*.He was just an ass in general and he gave 250 bucks, but I had a severe headache for the rest of the night. I did get some nice callers tonight who were a pleasure to talk to . I keep telling myself not much more, then I can go back to my dining services, where I am in contact with people, and not on the phones all of the time. People think we are telemarketers, but we are actually non-profit, working for Higher Education.

I heard back from Riverside Community Hospital and I have an interview session with them on sept 2nd. It does not necessarily mean I am in their program, but I will try. I am also faxing my resume to another internship working with mentally ill adults. The place is closer to me than working for the prevention of child abuse family services department, but we shall see who takes me. *smile* I feel really good that I have been applying myself and trying to find a position. I know something will come through for me.

I have Jury Duty and I am dreading going. I pray that I do not get picked for the jury because the Lord knows I am trying to get one of these internship positions. I also will probably have an opinion on whatever the trial is going to be on, and they hate people who have opinions.

Meanwhile I have been working out. I have been for the last two days, and tonight would of been my third but I skipped, yeah I know, I was planning on watching the gymnastics women all around competition, but then I stumbled on who won on Msn, so that burst my bubble. I was already in my pj's and comfortable, so I was not motivated. I will tomorrow night however. I am planning on keeping this up, and tomorrow I am getting up to eat that oatmeal I bought myself for breakfast. *smile*


said Michelle on 2004-08-19 @ 10:16 p.m.

last ++ next

Miss these?
-----
4 months later - 2007-03-11
Being a Social Worker - 2006-11-07
Need a new Job!! - 2006-10-11
Two Months into my New Life - 2006-08-30
Loving the Job - 2006-08-17
The Diary
The xtras
Stalk Me
Currently I'm
Thank you